WE. HAVE. CHICKS!

Hi everybody, my name is Jessica and I am the project manager over here at Treats for Chickens. You might wonder, hmm.. What EXACTLY does a project manager do? I am sort of the “make sure nothing goes haywire” person. What I mean by that is I make sure all orders get filled and shipped properly so our customers receive nothing but the best – all across the USA.  There isn’t a grain, seed, mealworm, etc. that doesn’t get past me without being perfect!

This has been my position for almost a year now, and to be quite frank, up until now I have known absolutely NOTHING about chickens. Quite honestly, they terrify me. Pretty ironic don’t cha think? Here I am, working for this company who strives to ensure backyard chickens stay healthy and happy, and I couldn’t tell you the difference between a hen and a rooster. Okay.. You’re probably thinking, wow this girl can talk! And you’re totally right, enough about me, this is supposed to be about OUR NEW BABY CHICKS!

chick 1

9 of them to be exact. 9 of the most ADORABLE little things I have ever seen. I have never owned a chick, held a chick, fed a chick, none of it. I live on a “multi-family-compound”, with a bunch of dirt-worshiping, foodie, chicken enthusiasts. With that in mind, getting baby chicks was not my idea at all. But, being a member of the family property, I was definitely game to help out! Let me tell you, as soon as I saw those lil’ guys (and hopefully they are REALLY all gals) and held one for my first time, I fell in LOVE! I mean, how can one not love something so small and fluffy? I actually fell pretty head over heels for one in particular. She is a four-day-old Bantam Cochin (did I get that right?) and I named her Gandalf! Take a look at the pic below, and hopefully someone gets the joke and can get a good chuckle.

chick 2chick 4

Get it? Gandalf the Grey like from Lord of the Rings. Haha! Anyway, I am having the time of my life getting to know these girls. How fast they are growing on the other hand, is a tad bit frightening. Do any of y’all remember what it was like having your first chick? That warm feeling you get in your stomach when you know it is almost time to go see them? Because that is what I experience all the time. I am a first time blogger/chicken-keeper. So no one be too harsh please! I would love to hear any positive feedback. I will be doing weekly check-in’s so don’t forget to keep coming back! Cluck yea!

2 thoughts on “WE. HAVE. CHICKS!

  1. Donna Davis says:

    Jessica I can so relate. Last year I embarked on my journey with chickens & just love it. I have 11 hens now and am adding more to my count. #2 coop is going up now!! Good luck. It’s the best therapy!!

    • treatsforchickens says:

      Donna, therapy is a very good way to describe it! Whenever I am having a rough day, I totally find myself wandering over to the brooder where the little gals are and they completely have a way to calm me down. It is an amazing feeling, isn’t it? Thank you for your response. 🙂

Leave a Reply

